Who's Online

We have 47 guests and no members online

Gerster Speeds During Jennerstown Must See Practice

JENNERSTOWN, Pa. (Sept. 12, 2020) – Making his first Must See Racing Sprint Car Series presented by Engine Pro appearance of the season, Brian Gerster topped the speed charts during Saturday practice at Jennerstown Speedway.

2020 MSR Jennerstown Brian Gerster Candid Jacob Seelman PhotoGerster toured the .522-mile oval in 15.755 seconds (119.276 mph) with the No. 50m Dick Myers Racing sprinter to lead a 21-car field for the American Racer David D. Mateer Memorial.


Brian Gerster on Saturday at Jennerstown Speedway. (Jacob Seelman photo)

The Fishers, Ind., native and two-time series champion is also the sprint car track record holder at Jennerstown. He’s seeking his 24th career win in the series’ fourth points race of the season.

Florida’s Troy DeCaire followed Gerster on the overall charts, with a lap of 15.822 seconds (118.771 mph) in the No. 36 Statham Construction Hurricane.

Also a two-time champion, DeCaire led the way in the first of two rounds of practice and then elected to forego the second round to make a gear change before Engine Pro Time Trials at 3 p.m. ET.

Ohio’s Charlie Schultz (16.024/117.274) clocked the third-fastest lap, followed by series point leader Anthony McCune and Joe Liguori among the top-five runners.

Adam Biltz, Kevin Feeney, Joey Wyckoff, debuting rookie Nolan Allison and Tom Jewell filled out the top 10.

Five-time defending series champion Jimmy McCune was 12th-quick after motor issues in the first round of practice Saturday afternoon.

Saturday’s David D. Mateer Memorial will be broadcast live on SPEED SPORT Network affiliate Must See Racing TV beginning at 3 p.m. ET with qualifying. Pay-per-view tickets for the event are $18.

PRACTICE RESULTS: Must See Racing Sprint Car Series; Jennerstown Speedway; Sept. 12, 2020

  1. #50m – Brian Gerster, 15.755 seconds
  2. #36 – Troy DeCaire, 15.822 seconds
  3. #9s – Charlie Schultz, 16.024 seconds
  4. #8 – Anthony McCune, 16.175 seconds
  5. #13 – Joe Liguori, 16.340 seconds
  6. #8a – Adam Biltz, 16.562 seconds
  7. #6k – Kevin Feeney, 16.648 seconds
  8. #2 – Joey Wyckoff, 16.687 seconds
  9. #16 – Nolan Allison, 16.690 seconds
  10. #7 – Tom Jewell, 16.734 seconds
  11. #72s – Joe Speakman, 16.976 seconds
  12. #88 – Jimmy McCune, 17.060 seconds
  13. #81 – Steve Surniak, 17.356 seconds
  14. #85 – Rick Holley, 17.357 seconds
  15. #12 – Dylan Watson, 17.464 seconds
  16. #13d – Jacob Dolinar, 17.592 seconds
  17. #51s – Joshua Sexton, 18.540 seconds
  18. #15 – Tim Henthorne, 18.576 seconds
  19. #11g – Tom Geren, 18.829 seconds
  20. #90 – Todd McQuillen, 18.908 seconds
  21. #26 – Jeff Bloom, NT

David D. Mateer Tribute at Jennerstown Speedway

PROMO GRAHIC 09-02-20jpg Page1



amracerThe Must See Racing Sprint Series has announced that American Racer will continue as the official and exclusive series tire for the next three years (2021 thru 2023).

Must See Racing president Jim Hanks said, “From the day back in March 2011 that MSR selected American Racer, their management team, engineers and our series distributor, Wayne Bishop of Michigan American Racer LLC has delivered on every commitment and promise enabling MSR to not only meet, but exceed, our three original objectives of safety, presenting a level and competitive playing field for our competitors, and significantly reducing tire costs for our teams.”

Tires are one of the most important components in racing, creating a difficult and complex dynamic for competitors and officials alike. As the overall costs of racing  challenges race teams the American Racer tire has leveled the playing field between wide spread tire budgets while significantly reducing all competitors tire expenses.

“I really appreciate and respect American Racer’s continued and ongoing commitment to product quality and competitive pricing. Performance has been the foundation of our series and our outstanding relationship. The quality of our first class race teams, their spectacular record setting performance competing on the American Racer tire objectively speaks for itself,” concluded Hanks.

“It is with great pleasure we continue and extend our long standing relationship with Must See Racing showcasing our brand and American Racer tires with the World’s Fastest Short Track Cars” added Specialty Tires of America Director of Racing, Scott Junod.

MSR is based in Holly, Michigan and features 410 CI unlimited horsepower winged pavement sprint cars competing at some of the most historic and notable tracks in the Midwest, Northeast and Southeast regions of America including the upcoming American Racer “DAVID D. MATEER TRIBUTE” at Jennerstown Speedway (Pennsylvania) on Saturday September 12, 2020.

Visit for ongoing event information, updates and event ticket information.

Jimmy McCune Returns To Must See Racing Victory Lane

LORAIN, Ohio – Jimmy McCune continued his family’s run of dominance in the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series presented by Engine Pro by returning to victory lane Saturday night at Lorain County Speedway.

2020 MSR Lorain Jimmy McCune VL Celebration David Sink Photo

After being bested by his nephew Anthony during the opening doubleheader at Wisconsin’s Golden Sands Speedway one week earlier, the five-time defending series champion rekindled his traditional dominance by ruling the roost at the third-mile Ohio short track.

McCune took command on lap 15 from polesitter Craig Mintz and led the remaining distance, pulling away down the stretch for his 34th career Must See Racing victory by .888 seconds over Troy DeCaire.

The race marked the third round of the Must See Racing winged sprint car points season, and it was the third feature in a row to go uninterrupted from green to checkered once the first lap was completed.

Mintz, normally a dirt-track mainstay in Ohio, hung on for a strong finish in third. He was trailed by Anthony McCune and local favorite Charlie Schultz.

Sixth through 10th were Kevin Feeney, Joe Speakman, Tom Jewell, Christian Koehler and Jacob Dolinar.

2020 MSR Lorain Craig Mintz Jimmy McCune Lead Battle David Sink Photo

Saturday’s event was an emotional affair, after the passing of longtime Must See Racing sprint regular and past championship runner-up Jerry Caryer in the hours prior to the Lorain County event.

A missing-man salute was performed during the three-wide parade lap in Caryer’s honor.

The Must See Racing Sprint Car Series season continues Sept. 5 with the non-points Pay Less Little 500 at Indiana’s Anderson Speedway. Kody Swanson is the defending champion of the Little 500.

The finish:

1. 88-Jimmy McCune, 2. 36-Troy DeCaire, 3. 11m-Craig Mintz, 4. 8-Anthony McCune, 5. 9s-Charlie Schultz, 6. 6k-Kevin Feeney, 7. 72s-Joe Speakman, 8. 7-Tom Jewell, 9. 10k-Christian Koehler, 10. 13-Jacob Dolinar, 11. 12-Kyle Capodice, 12. 8a-Adam Biltz, 13. 11g-Tom Geren, 14. 51s-Joshua Sexton, 15. 99s-Craig Sharfenberg Jr., 16. 42-Jason Blonde, 17. 26-Jeff Bloom, 18. 85-Rick Holley.