Who's Online

We have 70 guests and no members online

Must See Racing Announces Partial 2018 Schedule

HOLLY, Mich.  — The Must See Racing Sprint Car Series presented by Engine Pro has revealed the majority of its 2018 racing schedule, featuring many of the tour's traditional race dates and a brand-new venue that is joining the series for the first time.


2017 msr upcoming season promo
Must See Racing has announced its North division calendar for the 2018 season. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)

Next year, Must See Racing will kick off its schedule with the seventh-annual Southern Shootout, which returns to Anderson (S.C.) Motor Speedway and Hickory (N.C.) Motor Speedway for the third-consecutive season on April 20-21.

The two-day weekend will serve as the season-opener for both the Must See Racing North and South divisions.

The Must See Racing Northern division will then contest its first standalone event at Birch Run Speedway in Birch Run, Mich. on May 11, with the four-tenths-mile oval hosting a points event for the first time after a successful non-points race in 2017.

The Birch Run race will be followed up by a second race at a to-be-announced venue on May 12, making for an early doubleheader weekend for Must See Racing's Midwest-based core race teams.

Then, pavement sprint cars from across the country will convene at the quarter-mile Anderson (Ind.) Speedway during Memorial Week for the MSR-sanctioned, non-points Pay Less Little 500, set for May 26.

A second to-be-announced venue will host the series on June 9, followed by a big-money race at Pennsylvania's Jennerstown Speedway on June 23. Featuring the series for the first time ever, Jennerstown's half-mile will play host to a $4,000-to-win event for Must See Racing, creating a cornerstone stop on the series' mid-summer stretch.

Must See Racing North teams will make their first of two stops at Owosso Speedway in Ovid, Mich. just prior to Independence Day week, with the June 30 show traditionally serving up can't-miss action on the three-eighths-mile, semi-banked oval.

That event will be followed up by the series' second appearance at Midvale Speedway in New Philadelphia, Ohio, with the 'Thunder in the Valley' featuring the MSR sprint cars at the three-tenths-mile bullring on July 14.

Another traditional doubleheader weekend will close the summer stretch, with Madison Int'l Speedway returning to the MSR calendar for the third-straight season on July 27 and a stop at Rockford (Ill.) Speedway on July 28 completing the twinbill and helping to reduce travel costs for teams over the two-day haul.

The month of August will see MSR teams return to Owosso on Aug. 4, the first race of three straight weekends of competition, with the series also making a repeat stop in Anderson, Ind., on Aug. 11 before a to-be-announced event closes the stretch of five races in four weeks on Aug. 19.

The MSR Championships will return to historic Hickory Motor Speedway for the second-straight year, closing the series season on Nov. 16-17 and marking a joint, season-ending weekend for both the North and South division teams.

The Hickory event will wrap up the points-paying portion of the year and crown both division champions in an action-packed two-day weekend event.

Additional dates for the Must See Racing South division will be revealed at a later date.

Both the North and South divisions will be again be independent of each other, with both divisions offering separate points funds, multiple contingency awards and cash bonuses for competing drivers.

In addition, Must See Racing will offer heat race payouts to the top three positions in every heat race for the second year in a row, as well as a fast time bonus of $100, awarded to the top qualifier at every event during the season.

"We are very pleased and excited to be able to announce the majority of our 2018 season this early, allowing race teams, drivers and fans maximum opportunity to make travel plans and prepare for what we hope is going to be another great year of racing," said Must See Racing Founder and President Jim Hanks. "The enthusiasm of our passionate race fans and race teams ahead of the 2018 season has been defined by the addition of yet another new track in Jennerstown Speedway and the entertaining shows our drivers have put on in the past year. All of us at Must See Racing are proud of the schedule we've assembled and we're eagerly anticipating another year of wheel-to-wheel, record-breaking competition."

Must See Racing Sprint Car Series Schedule

April 20 — Anderson Motor Speedway — Williamston, S.C.

April 21 — Hickory Motor Speedway — Hickory, N.C.

May 11 — Birch Run Speedway — Birch Run, Mich

May 12 — TBA — TBA

May 26 — Anderson Speedway (Pay Less Little 500, non points) — Anderson, Ind.

June 9 — TBA — TBA

June 23 — Jennerstown Speedway — Jennerstown, Pa.

June 30 — Owosso Speedway — Ovid, Mich.

July 14 — Midvale Speedway — New Philadelphia, Ohio

July 27 — Madison Int'l Speedway — Oregon, Wis.

July 28 — Rockford Speedway — Rockford, Ill.

Aug. 4 — Owosso Speedway — Ovid, Mich.

Aug. 11 — Anderson Speedway — Anderson, Ind.

Aug. 18 — TBA — TBA

Nov. 16-17 — Hickory Motor Speedway — Newton, N.C.

Jacob Seelman, Managing Editor
Performance Motorsports Network, Radio Co-Host
Must See Racing, Series Announcer

Must See Racing Championship Moves To Hickory

HOLLY, Mich. — The Must See Racing Sprint Car Series has announced that the tour’s championship weekend has shifted to Hickory Motor Speedway on Nov. 17-18.

2017 meltdown promo

Jacob Wilson (07) battles Jimmy McCune in Must See Racing sprint car action at Hickory Motor Speedway. (CSP/Chris Seelman photo)


Originally scheduled at Myrtle Beach Speedway, Must See Racing is now partnering with the Pro All Stars Series as part of the Mason-Dixon MegaMeltdown, which features a $15,000-to-win, 300-lap PASS South super late model race as part of the blockbuster two-day weekend.

“PASS is very glad to work with Must See Racing again at Hickory as part of the Mason-Dixon MegaMeltdown,” said Pro All Stars Series president Tom Mayberry. “Some of the most powerful short track cars in North America will come together when PASS and Must See Racing join together at the MegaMeltdown. Fans and racers from across the continent will get a chance to see super late models and winged sprint cars compete on the same weekend, and we are glad that Jim Hanks and his staff were able to help us make this happen.”

The Must See Racing sprint car portion of the event will feature twin 25-lap qualifying races on Friday, with the top three finishers from each qualifier advancing into a blind redraw on Saturday for the top six starting positions in the championship feature.

All other drivers will start straight up on their qualifying race finishing position, with a 50-lap A-Main on Saturday afternoon — paying points for both the Must See Racing North and Must See Racing South divisions — determining the champions for the 2017 season.

This will mark the first time Must See Racing has visited Hickory for a second time during the same calendar year, following successful springtime events in each of the last three seasons.

Past Must See Racing winners at Hickory include Jeff Bloom (2015) and Jimmy McCune (2016, 2017).

“We are delighted to be back at Hickory Motor Speedway once again and excited to be able to work with Tom Mayberry and the staff with PASS to bring ‘The Fastest Short Track Cars In The World’ to one of the biggest weekends of short track racing in the Southeast,” said Must See Racing founder and president Jim Hanks. “Hickory has always been a favorite venue of our drivers and teams and we look forward to a fantastic show as we close out our season and crown our two division champions for the year in one action-packed weekend of racing.”

2017 October TV Alert

2017 oct tv alert 1

September 2017 TV Alert

2017 tv alert september 1