Who's Online

We have 61 guests and no members online

Fayard Sets Mobile Track Record


Two track speed records were shattered in the Open-Wheel Only Spectacular, Saturday night at Mobile International Speedway, A Rick Crawford Performance Track.

The evening got off to a fantastic start when six Must See Xtreme Sprint Cars surpassed Kevin Swindell's track record of 14.487 seconds - set in 2005. Todd Fayard, from nearby Saucier, MS, collected a $500 bonus when he emerged as the new track record holder with a lap of 13.919 seconds. Fayard was the only driver to crack the 13 second barrier.

Motorcyclist Robbie McClendon broke his own record of 21.330  set in August, by posting a 21.129 during qualifying on Saturday. This serves as a reminder as to why fans should get to the track as soon as possible the action starts long before the drop of the first green flag.

Must See Xtreme Sprint Car Series
Brian Olson took advantage of a front row starting position on his birthday to claim his first career Must See Xtreme Racing Sprint Car Series feature victory Saturday night at Mobile International Speedway. Olson piloted the Davey Hamilton Racing TRUFUEL entry into victory lane and collected the championship points lead for his efforts.
The laps ticked by at a blistering fast pace as Olson withstood a late race charge by Jason Cox. Cox appeared to have taken the lead from Olson on lap 20 but a caution had occurred just before the pass was completed. The break fell Olson’s way and he never looked back.

"With about ten laps to go, I was getting bottled up in lapped traffic and Jason got by me,” Olson said. “I caught a lucky break with the caution and got the lead back. After that I knew he was there and had to step it up - that's what I did and it paid off.

“This series is getting bigger and bigger and there are some really good drivers in it."
The three seven-lap heat races were won by Tim Cox, Jim Sheets, and Mickey Kempgens.