Who's Online

We have 80 guests and no members online

lights logo 2021


August 21, 2021 – DeGraff, Ohio – A huge crowd was on hand to greet the second visit of the year for the Maxima Racing Oils Must See Racing Midwest Lights series Saturday night at Shady Bowl Speedway.

IMG 1152

The second year series is quickly becoming one of the most competitive winged pavement sprint car series in the entire country. Prior to Saturday, there had been only one repeat winner of the six events contested in 2021. In addition, entering Saturday’s event, Joey Wyckoff and Dylan Watson were tied atop the standings with 497 points apiece.

The only series incident of the night occurred early during heat #1. On the start, current point leader Dylan Watson rode up over another car sending him into the turn 1 wall. Watson’s car rode the wall, and in the process, knocked out the caution light. Watson would be done for the evening with heavy damage. A roughly 30-minutes delay was necessitated to repair the caution light.

A feature invert of 7 would find the night’s fast qualifier Charlie Schultz starting way back in the fourth row.

When the green flag dropped, Joshua Sexton stormed into the lead from his outside front row starting position. Sexton immediately built a sizeable lead. Schultz quickly went to work and was up to second by lap 10. Sexton had already built a good lead and was firmly in control. Over the final 30 circuits, Schultz was gradually catching Sexton, but he ultimately ran out of time. Sexton lead the 40-lap feature wire-to-wire.

Following Sexton was Schultz, Wyckoff, Cody Gallogly, and J.J. Henes rounding out the top five.

IMG 1149

Heat winners were Tim Henthorne and Wyckoff.

The win was the first career Maxima Racing Oils Must See Racing Midwest Lights victory for Sexton. Sexton now becomes the sixth different winner out of seven events contested thus far in 2021.

40-lap feature finish:

  1. Joshua Sexton (51)
    2.       Charlie Schultz (92)
    3.       Joey Wyckoff (90)
    4.       Cody Gallogly (27)
    5.       J.J. Henes (36)
    6.       Jason Rader (52)
    7.       Todd McQuillen (21)
    8.       Tim Henthorne (15)
    9.       Junior Gould (65)
            DNS Dylan Watson (12)